In this section of the website, you'll learn how government works at the local, state, and federal levels.

The level of government refers to the jurisdiction or location.

  • The federal goverment is the national government. The capital city for the federal government is located in Washington, D.C.

  • The state governments are managed by the individual states. There are 50 states. Each state has its own capital city.

  • The local governments are in the form of counties and cities. A county is a collection of cities organized by the state. A city or a town is regulated by the state.

There are three branches of government. These three branches are found at the federal and state levels.

  • The executive branch enforces the law. The executive branch is managed by a President at the federal level and a Governor at the state level.

  • The legislative branch makes the law. The legislative branch is composed of the Senate and the House of Representatives. Most state governments have an arrangment that is similar to the federal government.

  • The judicial branch interprets the law. The judicial branch is composed of judges and other officials who make decisions that are based on the U.S. Constitution.


Here are some topics that might be of interest to you if you want to learn more about the government in the United States.


About    Terms    Site Map     Privacy    Feedback

© 2019 LAEO Incorporated. All rights reserved.